Get ready to celebrate the outstanding achievements of Canadian authors. Today, Amazon Canada and The Walrus have unveiled the nominees for its 48th annual First Novel Award, which recognizes the exceptional talent of debut novelists and their contributions to the Canadian literary scene.

The finalists for the 2024 Amazon Canada First Novel Award have been announced, showcasing the remarkable depth of talent in Canadian literature. Here they are, listed alphabetically by each author’s last name:

Each of this year’s finalists will receive $6,000, with the winner receiving $60,000. The winner will be announced at the in-person award ceremony in Toronto on Thursday, June 6, 2024. The event will be hosted by Jennifer Hollett, executive director of The Walrus, and will include David A. Robertson as the 2024 youth author special guest speaker. 

And for the seventh year in a row, the Youth Short Story category will also be presented at the award ceremony. Authors between the ages of thirteen and seventeen were invited to submit a short story under 3,000 words. Chosen by an esteemed panel of judges, the winner in this category will receive $5,000, and the five finalists will each receive $500. 

The panel of judges for this year is composed of esteemed authors and literary figures, including Billy-Ray Belcourt, author of A Minor Chorus; francesca ekwuyasi, author of Butter Honey Pig Bread; Kaie Kellough, author of Accordéon; and Souvankham Thammavongsa, author of the short story collection “How to Pronounce Knife.” Each of these bring a unique perspective and expertise to the selection process. 

For Amazon, the First Novel Award is a way to champion the inaugural voices shaping tomorrow’s literary landscape in Canada. These authors inspire, captivate, and reflect the vibrant essence of the country. It is also a way to celebrate the diverse narrative that enrich Canada’s cultural tapestry, and honour the remarkable talent of emerging Canadian authors.

Since its establishment in 1976, the First Novel Award program has launched the careers of some of Canada’s most prestigious authors. Previous winners include Michael Ondaatje, Joan Barfoot, Joy Kogawa, W. P. Kinsella, Nino Ricci, Rohinton Mistry, Michael Redhill, Mona Awad, Katherena Vermette, Casey Plett, Michelle Good, and last year’s winner, Jasmine Sealy.

For additional information about the finalists and the Amazon Canada First Novel Award, visit or